September 22, 2006

  • Do you support the war?

    When I see someone drive an car to a protest regarding American actions
    in the middle east, I have to wonder where exactly we’re going to get
    the gas to fuel that thing from if we start behaving in a responsible
    and civilized manner? Perhaps bunnies and puppies and kittens will romp
    in endless sunny fields and piddle gasoline for our consumption, but I
    doubt it. Every time you fill up, it is a vote to go to war. And no,
    your greener-than-thou car isn’t any better than that Escalade. And
    yes, I am a hypocrite.

    Speaking of “green” cars and all their ilk, a tidbit from Cleverchimp via Dandalism:

    “Every
    single hour that >$20K greener-than-thou car operates, it expends
    about the amount of energy necessary to ride a bicycle from Los Angeles
    to New York. (37.5kWh = 2,500mi @ 15Wh/mi, 50% metabolic efficiency).”

    Speaking of bicycles heres a quote that says more than it may seem to at first glance:

    “Participatory
    democracy demands low-energy technology, and free people must travel
    the road to productive social relations at the speed of a bicycle.” –
    Ivan Illich
    http://reactor-core.org/energy-and-equity.html#chapter3

    So
    yeah. I really should get rid of my motorcycle. I just don’t wanna. I
    was going to go to Tasche Station to pick up some power converters!

    But I am going to get a long bike.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *